About the Work Group on Autism Research and Training

Kansas - Community Developmental Disability Organization

Eligibility Criteria for Developmental Disability

The CDDO in each designated geographic region of KANSAS uses the foloowing eligibility criteria determined by Kansas SRS Department of Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities Services. This criterion is not intended to define Mental retardation or Developmental Disabilities, but to define the population who is eligible to receive services.

Mental Retardation means substantial limitaion in functioning that is manifested during the time from birth to age 18 years and is characterized by significantly below average intellectual functioning co-existing with deficits in adaptive behavior, including related limitations in two or more of the following adaptive skill areas:

  1. Communication
  2. Self-Care
  3. Home Living
  4. Social Skills
  5. Community Use
  6. Self-Direction
  7. Health and Safety
  8. Functional Academics
  9. Leisure
  10. Work

Developmental Disability means a condition such as autism, cerebral palsy, epilepsy, or similar physical or mental impairment. In addition, developmental disability is evidenced by severe, chronic limitations which:

  1. Self-Care
  2. Learning and adapting
  3. Living independently
  4. Understanding and using language
  5. Mobility
  6. Economic self-sufficiency
  7. Self-direction in setting goals and accomplishing these goals

And reflects a need for a combination and sequence of special, interdisciplinary or generic care, treatment, or other services which are lifelong, or extended in duration and are individually planned and coordinated. This does not include individuals who are soley severely emotionally disturbed or seriously and persistently mentally ill or have disabilities solely as a result of infirmities of aging.

For children under age six, developmental disability means a severe, chronic disability which:

  • Is attributable to a mental or physical impairment or a combination of mental and physical impairments
  • Results in at least three developmental delays as measured by qualified professionals using appropriate diagnostic instruments or procedures
  • Reflects a need for a combination and sequence of special, interdisciplinary or generic care, threatment or other services which are lifelong, or ectended in duration and individually planned and coordinated AND does not include individuals who are solely severely emotionally disturbed or seriously and persistently mentally ill

The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).