About the Work Group on Autism Research and Training

Missouri Mental Health Services

Missouri mental health services are divided into 25 service areas across the state of Missouri. Each area has a Community Mental Health Center that provides psychiatric services to individuals in need and is designated as the division's Administrative Agent. These Administrative Agents serve as the primary entry and exit point for state mental health services and are responsible for the assessment and services to both adults and children in their assigned area. Call 1-888-279-8188 for the 24-hour crisis line that will refer you to the appropriate service.

Network of Care (www.missouri.networkofcare.org)

The department of mental health is an online information place for individuals, families, and agencies conderned with mental and emotional wellness, substance abuse, and developmental disabilities. This online community provides critical information, communication and advocacy tools with a single point of entry for those mavigating the service system of behavioral health services, those working to avoid the need for formal services, and those ready to tansition out of the behavioral health system. Your care may be covered by health insurance, Medicare or Medicaid. Special assistance may be arranged for those persons having difficulties and/or no ability to pay.

Adult and Youth Outpatient Services

Services include assessment, crisis intervention, individual, group and family therapy. Adult services are provided to those ages 17 years and up. Youth services are provided to children and adolescents, ages 5-18, and their families. Serious emotional disturances and behavioral disorders will be treated as long as the consumer does not need inpatient or residential care. Children must have a means of transportation. With children under six, the focus will be on patenting skills.

Support Groups

CMHS offers a range of self-help groups that serve those with emotional problems and their family members. Many of these groups are free of charge.

The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).